Birding Trips

Car pools will be organized only for full-day driving trips. On other trips participants should meet at the venue at the indicated times. Participants may informally arrange their own ride sharing arrangements if they wish. Detailed directions to most of the birding sites are found here. For more information about the venues, follow the links in the listing below. Specific information will be provided in emails to the Google Group.

Non-members are welcome to join us on birding trips.

You will be required to sign a Waiver before participating.

For reports of previous trips, look here.

Download a printable schedule here.

January 

January 27 (Thursday): Venetian Gardens (no Herlong Park). Leader: Marlene Armstrong. Half day drive; lunch. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM. Park at Ski Beach parking area off Lakeshore Drive.

February

February 4 (Friday): Ft. Island Beach. Leader: Alice Horst. Half day drive. Lunch. Meet at venue at 7:30 AM.

 

February 7 (Monday) Meet and Bird. Leader: Alice Horst. Venue TBA. 2 hour walk. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM.

 

February 10 (Thursday): Sweetwater Wetlands. Leader: Alice Horst. Half day walk.  Picnic lunch. Meet at venue at 7:30 AM.

 

February 14 (Monday): Meet and Bird. Venue TBA. Leader: Alice Horst. 2 hour walk. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM.

 

February 18 (Friday): Emeralda Marsh Wildlife Drive. Leader: Barb Gay. Half day drive/walk. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM.

 

Februry 19 (Saturday): Monthly Meeting. Paradise Recreation Center. 9:00 AM.

 

February 22 (Tuesday). Birding 101. Paradise Recreation Center. 8:00-12:00.

 

February 25/26 (Friday/Saturday): Outdoor Expo-Everglades Recreation Center. 8:30-4:30.

 

March

March 2 (Wednesday): Oakland Nature Preserve. Leader: Alice Horst. Half day walk. Meet at venue at 8:00.

 

March 7 (Monday): Meet and Bird. Venue TBA. Leader: Alice Horst. 2 hour walk. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM.

 

March 14 (Monday): Meet and Bird. Venue TBA. Leader: Alice Horst. 2 hour walk. Meet at venue at 8:30 AM.

 

March 19 (Saturday): Monthly Meeting. Paradise Recreation Center. 9:00 AM.

 

March 22 (Tuesday): Gatorland. Leader: Jerry Bell. Details TBA. 

 

March 29 or 30 (Tuesday or Wednesday): Half Moon Wildlife Area. Leader: Barb Gay. Half day drive. Lunch. (Details TBA).

 

 April

April 5 (Tuesday ): Cedar Key. Leader: Barb Gay. Full day drive. Lunch. Meet  at Wal-Mart Parking lot at 7:30 AM.

 

April 9 (Saturday): Annual Club Picnic. Leader:  Marlene Armstrong. Details TBA.

 

April 12/13 (Tues/Weds): Fort DeSoto County Park. Leader: Alice Horst. Details TBA.

 

April 16 (Saturday): Monthly Meeting. Paradise Recreation Center. 9:00 AM.

 

April 20 (Wednesday): Moss Bluff.  Leader: Bob Smidt. Half day walk. Lunch at Dam Diner. Meet at venue at 8:00 AM.